0113 222 6072


2015 WISE Awards supported by Bloomberg

Celebrating female talent in science, technology and engineering from classroom to boardroom.

12 November 2015, London

Give us your feedback

A big thank you to Bloomberg, our Headline Sponsor for the 2015 WISE Awards & Conference, and all our sponsors for their continued support of the campaign and our mission to add 1 million more women to the UK STEM workforce.

"Thank you for affording me such an exciting role in your special WISE Awards evening, which I thoroughly enjoyed. As the statistics show, your leadership and the hard work of your Council and executive team are making a real difference to girls’ perception that STEM is not for ‘people like me’. It is great to see Averil MacDonald’s report being so widely taken up. The Science Museum Group is pleased to be able to support WISE’s work and may I wish you and the Campaign all continuing success."
Dame Mary Archer DBE, Chair of the Science Museum, Speaker on behalf of Bloomberg

View photos of the Conference and Awards ceremony

View the shortlist videos

See what you missed at the Conference

Read what our guests had to say

Read the supplement containing exclusive interviews with the winners


Winners, Highly Commended and Shortlist

WISE Awards Role Model Booklet

Read the press release

Read about the WISE Awards Winners, Highly Commended and Shortlist

Download the Awards Role Model booklet with shortlist and sponsors



WISE Girl Award – sponsored by Intel Corporation

WINNER: Stephany Baladas, Assistant Clinical Technologist Apprentice, King's College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Shortlisted: Sarah Horgan, student, Sir Charles Kao UTC
Shortlisted: Toktan Tabibi, student, Stockley Academy

WISE Apprentice Award – sponsored by Rolls-Royce plc

WINNER: Caitlin Stuart, Building Services Design Technician Apprentice, Troup Bywaters + Anders

Shortlisted: Tiffany Connor, Production Technologist, Fujifilm Diosynth Biotechnology
Shortlisted: Hannah Mills, Apprentice VWCV Technician, Imperial Commercials

WISE Inspiring Young People Award – sponsored by Atkins

WINNER: Kris Harrison, Head of Lean Engineering, Selex ES

Shortlisted: Sheila Thomas, Scientist in Residence, Bowling Park Primary School
Shortlisted: Sue Threader, Chief Executive, Rochester Bridge Trust

Bloomberg Open Technology Award – sponsored by Bloomberg

WINNER: Amanda Smith, Community Engagement Manager, The Open Data Institute

Shortlisted: Anne-Gaelle Colom, Director, jQuery Foundation
Shortlisted: Hera Hussain, Community & Partnerships Manager, OpenCorporates and Founder of CHAYN

WISE Tech Start-up Award – sponsored by Goldman Sachs

WINNER: Charlotte K. Williams, Founder and Chief Scientific Officer, Econic Technologies and Professor of Chemistry, Imperial College London

Highly Commended: Kanika Bansal, CEO, Medicen Devise Limited
Shortlisted: Clementine Chambon, Co-Founder/CTO, Oorja: Empowering Rural Communities

WISE Campaign Award – sponsored by Network Rail

WINNER: Women’s Engineering Society - National Women in Engineering Day

Shortlisted: Babcock - Devonport Respect Initiative
Shortlisted: SSE - Gender Diversity Campaign

WISE Influence Award – sponsored by Royal Academy of Engineering

WINNER: Dr Marily Nika, Program Manager (engineering), Google

Shortlisted: Sue Kershaw, Director of Rail, Europe, at CH2M
Shortlisted: Miranda Kirschel, President, Women in Nuclear UK

WISE Health & Safety Award – sponsored by Amec Foster Wheeler

WINNER: Helen James, Beyond Zero Advisor, BAM Nuttall

Shortlisted: Kate Cairns, Independent Sustainability Advisor, Cairns Consultancy
Shortlisted: Nicola McCracken, Health and Safety Training Manager, Lagan Construction Group

WISE Hero Award – sponsored by Babcock

WINNER: Dr Jennifer Walsh-O'Donovan, Clinical Scientist/Rehabilitation Bioengineer, NHS Lothian

Shortlisted: Juliet Davenport, Founder and CEO, Good Energy
Shortlisted: Laura Peach, Volunteer Placements Programme Coordinator, Engineers Without Borders, and Wind Turbine Engineer, Centrica Energy

WISE Research Award – sponsored by Thales

WINNER: Amrita Ahluwalia, Professor of Vascular Pharmacology, William Harvey Research Institute, Queen Mary University of London

Shortlisted: Margaret (Mandy) MacLean, Professor of Pulmonary Pharmacology, University of Glasgow
Shortlisted: Sharon Peacock, Director, Bloomsbury Research Institute and Professor of Clinical Microbiology at the University of Cambridge

WISE Employer Award – sponsored by AWE

WINNER: Bechtel

Shortlisted: Amec Foster Wheeler
Shortlisted: The Royal Air Force

WISE Lifetime Achievement Award – sponsored by Winton Capital

WINNER: Elizabeth Watson, Retired Head of Product Safety Assurance, Rolls-Royce plc

Shortlisted: Jacqueline de Rojas, President @techUK Area & Vice President Northern Europe @Citrix
Shortlisted: Dorothy Holford, Senior Fellow – Loads Data & Structural Capability Principal Engineer – Structural Integrity, Qineti

Range Rover Evoque WISE Scholarships

Read about the Range Rover Evoque WISE Scholarship Winners and Shortlist

Range Rover Evoque WISE Undergraduate Scholarship - sponsored by Jaguar Land Rover

WINNER: Temilolu Danso, Mechanical Engineering student, Plymouth University

Shortlisted: Laura McElhinney, Mechanical Engineering student, Queen’s University Belfast
Shortlisted: Abigail Parker, Aerospace Technology student, Coventry University

Range Rover Evoque WISE Apprentice Scholarship - sponsored by Jaguar Land Rover

WINNER: Emily Swatton, Mechanical Engineering Advanced Apprentice, Culham Centre for Fusion Energy

Shortlisted: Sophie Judge, Advanced Engineering Apprentice, Royal Mail
Shortlisted: Frida Nzaba, Manufacturing Engineering Level 4 Apprenticeship, Rolls-Royce plc

Our Members

Website Credits