0113 222 6072


Women of Outstanding Achievement

The Women of Outstanding Achievement (WOOA) photographic exhibition was a collection of creative and dramatic portraits that profiled outstanding women within science, engineering and technology

It consisted of 44 portraits, photographed between 2006 and 2012, and were displayed in prominent locations in leading STEM professional bodies and academic institutions. The Women of Outstanding Achievement nominations have now subsumed into the annual WISE awards.


Maggie Philbin, BBC Journalist and CEO TeenTech 

Belinda Swain, Chief Airworthiness Engineer at Rolls-Royce

Angela Brady, President of the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) and founder of Women in Architecture

Fiona Marshall, Founder and Chief Scientific Officer at Heptares Therapeutics Ltd

Read more about the 2012 WISE awards


Dame Ann Dowling, Head of Engineering department at the University of Cambridge

Dame Athene Donald, Professor at the University of Cambridge 

Cary Marsh, CEO & Founder of Mydeo.com and founding member of the Everywoman Modern Muse campaign

Dervilla Mitchell, Senior Engineer at Arup

Eileen Ingham, Head of the Institute of Medical and Biological Engineering at the University of Leeds

Kate Bellingham, Broadcaster, Maths teacher, President of Young Engineers and a National STEM Careers Coordinator

Dr Phebe Mann, Senior Lecturer and the first woman to hold five professional engineering qualifications in the UK

See the photographs from the 2011 Women of Outstanding Achievement awards ceremony held on 5 May at the Royal Academy of Engineering, London.

View a striking slide show of the seven award winners on the Guardian website.


Dr Sarah Baillie, Senior Lecturer at the Royal Veterinary College

Dr Jackie Hunter, Senior Vice President and Head in Science Environment Development at GlaxoSmithKline

Amanda Fisher, Director at Hammersmith Hospital and Professor and Head of Division of Clinical Sciences at Imperial College

Dr Helen Mason, Dept of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics at the University of Cambridge

Dame Julia Stretton Higgins, Former Principal of the Faculty of Engineering at Imperial College London

Helen Atkinson, Professor of Engineering and Head of Mechanics of Materials Research Group at the University of Leicester

Download the 2010 WoOA booklet


Ann Budge, Founder and Former Chief Executive of Sopra Group

Professor Lynne Frostick, Professor of Geography at the University of Hull

Linda Partridge, Weldon Professor of Biometry and Director of the UCL Institute of Healthy Ageing

Barbara Jones, Founder and Director of amazonails

Dr Jenny Gristock, Research Fellow in Neuroethics, SISSA, at the International School for Advanced Studies

Dr Carolin Crawford, Senior Outreach Officer at the Institute of Astronomy, University of Cambridge and a Fellow of Emmanuel College

Download the 2009 WoOA booklet


Dame Kay Davies, Dr Lee's Professor of Anatomy and Director of the MRC Functional Genetics Unit at the University of Oxford

Uta Frith, Emeritus Professor of Cognitive Development at UCL and Research Foundation Professor at Aarhus University

Dame Nancy Rothwell, MRC Research Professor, Deputy President and Deputy Vice Chancellor at the University of Manchester

Wendy Sadler, Director of Science Made Simple Ltd and works in the School of Physics and Astronomy at Cardiff University

Joanna Kennedy, Director of Ove Arup and Partners

Anne Glover, Chief Scientific Advisor for Scotland within the Scottish Government

Download the 2008 WoOA booklet


Carol Robinson, Professor in the department of Chemistry at the University of Cambridge

Frances Ashcroft, Professor in the department of physiology, Anatomy and Genetics at the University of Oxford

Dr Averil Macdonald, Physics Department at the University of Reading

Dr Sima Adhya, Technical Product Manager at QAT, QinetiQ

Julia King, Professor and Vice Chancellor at Aston University

Ijeoma Uchegbu, Professor in the School of Pharmacy at the University of London

Download the 2007 WoOA booklet


Wendy Hall, Professor of Computer Science at the University of Southampton

Jocelyn Bell Burnell, Astrophysicist and Visiting Professor at the University of Oxford

Kathy Sykes, Professor, Holds the Collier Chair in Public Engagement of Science and Engineering at the University of Bristol

Dr Maggie Aderin, Managing Director of Science Innovation Ltd and Senior Project Manager at Space Science at Sira Ltd

Julia Goodfellow, Professor, Chief Executive Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council

Rebecca George, Director at IBM

Download the 2006 WoOA booklet

Our Members

Website Credits