0113 222 6072


The WISE Awards – shortlist revealed!

No description available

​The finalists in this year’s WISE Awards are announced today

1 October 2015

Photo: Megan Stowe, WISE Awards judge from Intel Corporation (UK) Ltd and Caitlin Stuart, Apprentice nominee, Building Services Design Technician from Troup Bywaters & Anders

The annual WISE Awards celebrate the work of individuals and organisations who are leading the way for women in science, technology, engineering and maths (STEM).

Record numbers of entries were received from women and organisations working in the UK’s STEM sector.

The inspirational shortlist spans classroom to boardroom – the youngest being a 15 year old girl from Harlow in Essex whose passion is technology. As well as students and apprentices, the list includes women making great advances in science and technology in industry and a laboratory setting. Teachers, volunteers, companies, universities and professional institutions made it into the list for their contributions to grow and sustain the female talent pipeline

WISE Director Helen Wollaston said: “I was blown away by the passion, energy, commitment and sheer dogged determination of the girls and women we met yesterday. They are shining examples of talent which is changing the face of the UK’s science, technology and engineering industries, to keep us at the forefront of global innovation and make the world a better place”.

The WISE Awards 2015 shortlist is:

WISE Girl Award – sponsored by Intel Corporation

  • Stephany Baladas, Assistant Clinical Technologist Apprentice, King's College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
  • Sarah Horgan, student, Sir Charles Kao UTC
  • Toktan Tabibi, student, Stockley Academy

WISE Apprentice Award – sponsored by Rolls-Royce plc

  • Tiffany Connor, Production Technologist, Fujifilm Diosynth Biotechnology
  • Hannah Mills, Apprentice VWCV Technician, Imperial Commercials
  • Caitlin Stuart, Building Services Design Technician Apprentice, Troup Bywaters + Anders

WISE Inspiring Young People Award – sponsored by Atkins

  • Kris Harrison, Head of Lean Engineering, Selex ES
  • Sheila Thomas, Scientist in Residence, Bowling Park Primary School
  • Sue Threader, Chief Executive, Rochester Bridge Trust

Bloomberg Open Technology Award – sponsored by Bloomberg

  • Anne-Gaelle Colom, Director, jQuery Foundation
  • Hera Hussain, Community & Partnerships Manager, OpenCorporates and Founder of CHAYN
  • Amanda Smith, Community Engagement Manager, The Open Data Institute

WISE Tech Start-up Award – sponsored by Goldman Sachs

  • Kanika Bansal, CEO, Medicen Devise Limited
  • Clementine Chambon, Co-Founder/CTO, Oorja: Empowering Rural Communities
  • Charlotte K. Williams, Founder and Chief Scientific Officer, Econic Technologies and Professor of Chemistry, Imperial College London

WISE Campaign Award – sponsored by Network Rail

  • Babcock - Devonport Respect Initiative
  • SSE - Gender Diversity Campaign
  • Women’s Engineering Society - National Women in Engineering Day

WISE Influence Award – sponsored by Royal Academy of Engineering

  • Sue Kershaw, Director of Rail, Europe, at CH2M
  • Miranda Kirschel, President, Women in Nuclear UK
  • Dr Marily Nika, Program Manager (engineering), Google

WISE Health & Safety Award – sponsored by Amec Foster Wheeler

  • Kate Cairns, Independent Sustainability Advisor, Cairns Consultancy
  • Helen James, Beyond Zero Advisor, BAM Nuttall
  • Nicola McCracken, Health and Safety Training Manager, Lagan Construction Group

WISE Hero Award – sponsored by Babcock

  • Juliet Davenport, Founder and CEO, Good Energy
  • Laura Peach, Volunteer Placements Programme Coordinator, Engineers Without Borders, and Wind Turbine Engineer, Centrica Energy
  • Dr Jennifer Walsh-O'Donovan, Clinical Scientist/Rehabilitation Bioengineer, NHS Lothian

WISE Research Award – sponsored by Thales

  • Amrita Ahluwalia, Professor of Vascular Pharmacology, William Harvey Research Institute, Queen Mary University of London
  • Margaret (Mandy) MacLean, Professor of Pulmonary Pharmacology, University of Glasgow
  • Sharon Peacock, Director, Bloomsbury Research Institute and Professor of Clinical Microbiology at the University of Cambridge

WISE Employer Award – sponsored by AWE

  • Amec Foster Wheeler
  • Bechtel
  • The Royal Air Force

WISE Lifetime Achievement Award – sponsored by Winton Capital

  • Jacqueline de Rojas, President @techUK Area & Vice President Northern Europe @Citrix
  • Dorothy Holford, Senior Fellow – Loads Data & Structural Capability Principal Engineer – Structural Integrity, Qinetiq
  • Elizabeth Watson, retired Head of Product Safety Assurance, Rolls-Royce plc

For the first time this year, shortlisted nominees were invited to attend an interview with the judges for their category.

Read more about the shortlisted nominees

One of the judges, Megan Stowe from sponsors Intel Corp, said: “The standard of entry this year was absolutely amazing. It will be so difficult to choose just one winner.”

And another judge, Simon Hosking from sponsors Babcock, said he’d heard some “inspirational stories” and had found the judging experience “humbling”.

The 2015 WISE Awards black tie ceremony takes place on Thursday, November 12, at the five-star Grange Hotel St Paul's in London. The awards will be presented by Her Royal Highness The Princess Royal in her role as Royal Patron of the WISE campaign.

The ceremony will be preceded by a daytime conference at the IET London: Savoy Place, which will have just re-opened following a £30m refurbishment.

Speakers at the conference include Naomi Climer, IET president elect and recent president of Sony’s global Media Cloud Services division, and Vivian Hunt, managing partner at McKinsey & Company, UK and Ireland.

American engineer and retired NASA astronaut Dr Sandra Magnus, will also be taking part in the event, which will be compered by journalist Kate Russell, best known for the BBC technology programme Click.

Find out more about the 2015 WISE Awards and Conference

Buy tickets for the Conference

Follow WISE on Twitter @thewisecampaign or use the hashtag #WISEAwards2015

Our Members

Website Credits